THE WONDER OF NATURE

As many of you know, we have some wonderful poppies in our garden that originally belonged to Mr. HCB’s mother and when they bloom every year, it is just as if she is still here with us.

We now have lots of bright red poppies waving in the breeze with many more to come.  Today, on my early morning walk round the garden before church - and yes, I was wearing my pink robe - I spotted a poppy just bursting out of its bud.  

I have noticed that as the bud develops, it turns upside down and then, when the petals, which have been “crushed” inside the bud, are ready to emerge, it turns the right way up again, which reminded me of the growth, development and birth of a baby.  These poppies know just what to do and need no help from us - they just grow and bloom where they are planted and give us great enjoyment as we watch their life cycle.

This one took my eye this morning and I have no doubt that by the end of the day, a beautiful flower will be evident - in fact, even just a few minutes after I took this photograph, one of the sepals had been blown off by the wind as the flower was obviously eager to get out into the world.

It is fitting that these poppies are blooming for the centenary of the Battle of Jutland when more than 6,000 sailors were lost in the largest naval battle of the First World War.

Have a great Sunday folks - and for those of you who work, a great Bank Holiday weekend - not sure what the weather is supposed to do - at the moment it is quite grey and dull, but there’s time for the sun to come out.

“Adopt the pace of nature: 
     her secret is patience.” 
Ralph Waldo Emerson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.