The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The voyage

Not ours today, but I blipped this line of boarders over breakfast under the tree in our taverna. Tomorrow we set off for Ithaca.

We are so fortunate to be able to do this, while over in the Mediterranean, hundreds of people are drowning in search of a better life.

This morning, after I'd done some work (gasp!), We walked along the road to the Nautilus taverna, in search of fish for lunch. The restaurant, which is like a ship, is perched on a cliff overlooking the beach far below. The sea was layered with colours, like an assortment of blue ribbons in a haberdasher's store. A man on a rock was not about to dive in to the sea, despite being surrounded by waves. The air was thick with the scent of wild thyme, and cicadas shrilled in the long grasses.

Once seated, we ordered fried courgettes, mashed chickpeas with caramelised onion, then tuna souvlaki for me and sea bream for Steve. Afterwards, I could hardly walk, I was so full.
We went down the dodgy steps to the beach, the ones I blipped yesterday, and roasted on the beach for a while. It was too hot to read. I fell asleep again....

Now we're cleaned up and almost good to go for dinner....

I h

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.