The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Down, down, deeper and down

It was overcast this morning, and I'd slept later than intended, because of dreaming that I was involved in world war II, which was still going on...

I decided to walk along the shore to find a restaurant we'd heard of, and a small beach. These were the steps leading down! Once there, I lay down, but soon realised that the tide was coming in, not going out as I'd thought, so I.foubd a safer part, spread out, and fell asleep not once but twice! My tiredness is catching up with me.

I walked back past the zaxaroplasteio, literally sugar shop, where I bought some mini Baklava, and the supermarket, where I found beer and a sunhat. I lived in Northern Greece for a year, in 1986, as a teacher of English as a Foreign Language, so I like shopping, exploring, and trying to remember words. Not that Kefalonia is anything like the North, mind you ...

We had lunch back at base, then I got into the pool, but decided I'd prefer the sea. Swam and bobbed around for a while, then began falling asleep again...

In the evening we walked into Skala village for an explore, and found the Roman Villa. It was closed, but we know where it is now...had a drink at the Metaxa bar overlooking the beach, then walked home for dinner at our hotel. Mini cheese pies and and meatballs in a white sauce....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.