The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Seeing double

The accidental collage. Trouble at t' photo mill: I got out my Olympus camera, took photos on the beach and uploaded them to my iPad. This is still in a bad way after January's crashes. It doesn't like photos or anything much. Eventually I shifted a photo to my phone and edited it in Photodirector, but Blip app said it was too small to upload. So I've created a collage...

[A few days later, I've managed to change the collage and upload, using Photogene this time, so that it doesn't show the same image twice nor display a Photo Director barcode and a bikini top! Ideally, I would not have placed the macro view of the pebble in front of the mountain, but beggars can't be choosers and I'm amazed that it uploaded, as the internet is slow here today].

This is the beach outside our hotel, in the late evening. I had just booked us on the cruise to Ithaca island, on Captain Vangelis' glass bottomed boat. This won't be till Tuesday,, so we have plenty of time for lazing by the pool, reading, and strolling up to the village.

We've eaten some wonderful food today at the hotel, but I did feel dodgy for a lot of the morning and afternoon. Tummy troubles...eventually I tried a remedy from my homeopathic travel kit, and that made me feel.somewhat better. I managed to have dinner tonight, so it's not serious.

I braved the pool today. It was pleasantly uncold.
May try the sea tomorrow, and a walk to a nearby restaurant that's shaped like a boat.

While I was lounging, I looked up the social history of Thomas Cook. The original Mr Cook was a Victorian cabinet maker who belonged to the Temperance movement. On his way to a meeting one day, he had the brilliant idea of using the railways to transport the masses to meetings. His first 'trip' was from Leicester to Loughborough, by train, at a cost of one shilling return. Five hundred people signed up, and were converted to a Temperance meeting in style. Fast forward one hundred and seventy five years, and the chain of high street travel agents is still going in the UK, though now under German ownership, and offering mid range 'plane holidays to wine producing countries, rather than train trips to Temperance meetings!
.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.