The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Iris and Rose at Valentine's

I slept late this morning ( if I keep the bedroom fan on all night, it's cooler and I can't hear the distant traffic) and after I finished my cat lady duties, I decided that I could be bothered, after all, to take two buses to Ilford and beyond, to check out an interesting place I'd read about.

Those who remember film cameras will remember the brand name Ilford! I didn't see any film today, but earmarked Ilford as a cheap place to shop, if I return to this area.

My destination was the enticingly named Valentine's mansion and gardens, set in Valentine's park. Once in private ownership, it was left empty for a number of years. The council considered leasing it to a brewery for a family restaurant, but local.ipinion prevailed. A lottery grant for £2 million in 2008 secured the restoration, and now it's used for events and weddings, as well as for educational visits for schools.

I must admit, the House furnishings and descriptions were very basic, and I thought perhaps the displays were a bit out-of-time. I am used to visiting our local museum, the museum in the park in Stroud, which is superb, and NT properties. This was a lot more basic. Many rooms were wallpapered extravagantly, but empty. Weddings and conferences...

However, I enjoyed the gardens and the cafe in the courtyard. Once I'd wandered through the rise garden with its fabulous irises, I went and sat by another ornamental pond with a grotto, and contemplated the geese, whilst finishing my book, The Child in Time, by Ian McEwan. I'm pjeased to say that it's being made into a TV film for the BBC, both starring and co produced by Benedict Cumberbatch. He's not my type, that's not the point, it's just good to be reading such an old book (1987) and realise that it is, well, timely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.