The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Down by the folly gardens

This afternoon I walked to Wanstead conservation village across the extensive parkland. The bluebells, so prolific in the wood last time I was here, are totally over. The village yielded a prize winning poet in Barnardo's, so I bought some bargain books, and walked back via the park, but by a rather different route.

I wouldn't say I was lost, but let's just say I was delighted to find the Grotto on the ornamental lake. A friend I had looked for it on Good Friday, but totally failed to find it!

The grotto was a folly designed by the owners of the big house in the park, when it was part of a private estate. https://www.wansteadwildlife.org.uk/index.php/the-grotto12

Just as I was taking photos, along came an Irishman, who wanted directions. He said that the folly reminded him of a similar structure built by his ancestors, who'd had to emigrate during the potato famine. As such, it saddened him. We got talking, and ended up going for a drink at the kiosk in the park. He has an idea to change the world.

I do hope he succeeds. I can't tell you about it, but we need a change, I can tell you!

We parted at the edge of the park. I promised to put him in touch with a more radical friend of mine, who might just help him to Be the Change.

Back in catland, I took a jigsaw out into the garden, but a sudden gust of wind caught the flimsy pieces and sent them swirling. Some are now lost. The puzzle has lost its appeal. Right now, I only want to read, sleep, or watch documentaries. And maybe drink cheap wine...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.