The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Grand day out at Greenwich

What a day!

I sorted out the malfunctioning GPS tracking collar on the cat by charging the battery with a different lead to the the one supplied. That done, I was free to go walkabout myself.

First stop was Euston square, via Manor Park, where the new Crossrail station is being built. While waiting for my train, one of the new Crossrail trains came in, they're being tested on the line but won't be operational on this section until December 2018. Looked very sleek, streamlined, with step-free access onto the train. No Gap to Mind. I can't wait for Crossrail to be finished, and I don't even live in London! This is because when I go to London by train I arrive at Paddington, but I am usually heading to the far east, where my friends or feline friends live.

From the tube I walked up to meet CleanSteve at Calumet, where he was having his sensor cleaned and ogling the new Canons! He'd come up for the day, and we headed off to one of my favourite Indian Veggie restaurants in Drummond Street. I've been visiting on and off since the 1980s when I lived in London, and today it did not disappoint. We were joined by Ian, an old friend, and had an enormous and fragrant buffet lunch for about £20 for the three of us!

Steve had never been on the Docklands light railway, so we decided to head off down to Greenwich on the oldest and most knackered section of the line. You still get fab aerial views, though! On arrival at Maritime Greenwich, we meandered a bit, but mainly sat on the grass people watching and marvelling at the unBritish weather. I felt we might have been in a rather fancy tree lined Colonial part of Colombo, Sri Lanka. Steve thought of Europe.

From this building ( part of the University) we could hear some screeching violin practice. To this was added operatic singing, and even a trumpet. It was a little surreal.

Eventually we hauled ourselves up and on to a river cruise boat heading to Westminster. Seeing as there was a 50 pc reduction and the weather was perfect, we'd decided to take the leisurely route back. The commentary was pretty good, and the cool breezes and the riverside architecture amazing!

At Westminster we parted ways, CS going back to Paddington and Stroud, while I schlepped up to Enfield to have supper with an ex flat mate I'd known since the 80s. She's back in greater London and had tracked me down via my landline number that I've managed to keep the same for 18 years. She's having a big birthday party next weekend, but it made more sense for me to catch up now rather than returning to London next weekend.

We enjoyed another lovely meal, then I caught three trains and a bus back to cat land, where I was pleased to find all four cats at home, and both the burglar alarm and GPS collar behaving themselves. Now it's Saturday and it's time to get out and enjoy the sunshine, now that the brief thunderstorm has passed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.