Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Reflective...

Her eyes...my mood...both reflective.  

Today is Memorial Day, a day to honor those who've lost their lives in service to our country.  I paid my respects today in the way I know best, by spending some quiet time appreciating the little things around me.  And I can't help but hope that someday, eventually, we humans will stop having wars.  

Today's photo is Scamper, or Mamacita, as I more regularly call her.  She's the squirrel I blipped back in March when I was lucky enough to observe her moving her three babies to a new nest.  At least two of her youngsters survived and I have to wonder if Mamacita isn't pregnant again, based on her girth.  Or perhaps the Bistro is just serving too much food...  She is completely unafraid of us and will come to within a few feet to eat.  Here she was heading down the deck railing, straight towards the feeder (and me).  

Lots of insects showing up now, making for happy macro days.  And the bluebirds continue to visit periodically during the day, taking live or dried mealworms.  Today, Monsieur came to eat when Hubs and I were sitting less than 10 feet away - kind of magical.  

I posted four other pics starting HERE on Flickr - a butterfly, a damselfly with a meal, a woodpecker and a teeny, tiny spider giving me the eyes.

TTFN...
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.