Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Shocking!

It is hard to believe that our very own WalkingWombat started the Tiny Tuesday challenge a year ago - the beginning of a wonderful frenzy of macro photography from around the globe.  And I am so happy that the one-year anniversary occurs at a time when there are so many fascinating, tiny things in my garden.  Much to choose from.  Which doesn't really explain why I chose the very common Variable Dancer damselfly for today's image.  I just like them, and they are plentiful in my garden all summer.  The only challenge is that they seem to fear the camera so some patience is required in getting close enough to get a decent shot.  But, hey, what is blip about if not honing one's stalking skills?  Big thanks to Maura for hosting this week!

Amazingly, the chickadees have STILL not fledged.  I went back and checked to make sure I'd calculated correctly, and they started hatching on 12 May so they've been in the box 18-19 days which is still in the range of normal.  This morning, a pair of Tree Swallows was checking out the box, much to the consternation of the adult 'dees who scolded them soundly.  The parents have been calling out to the chicks all day, so I expect they'll fledge tomorrow.  

The tree swallows then went to the backyard and began seriously checking out the box I put up to replace the bluebird box.  Lots of twittering, swooping, going in and out of the box, perching on the box and all the other signs that they are viewing it favorably.  Even an attempted attack by a Cooper's Hawk didn't dissuade them.  I have to say that I would be delighted if they chose that box as it would give me a wonderful opportunity to observe them.  Of course, I'll have to add another box for the bluebirds now...  Being a landlord this time of year is quite a job!

The bluebirds continue to visit throughout the day, taking live and dried mealworms.  Hard to say who is prettier - the male bluebird or the male swallow.  I think I give a slight edge to Monsieur, but I reserve the right to change my mind...

The heat is starting to break - thank goodness.  Tomorrow I'm heading out with my naturalist group, probably mostly in search of odes and insects.  Should be fun!  

And in just a week, I'll be jetting off for a quick visit with my parents in OR - can't wait to see them!

Cheers.
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.