Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Chippie got your tongue?

Did you ever hear that expression "cat's got your tongue?"  Well, that was the first thing that popped into my head when I got this image up on the screen.  This is one of the rock-wall chippies who was having a post-peanut bath on the wall.  I've gotten some of my funniest photos during chippie bathing sessions - they are just utterly adorable.

Hubs and I headed into NYC this morning, with my D90 in hand.  We went straight through the Lincoln Tunnel to Mecca (B&H Photo) where we got a fair trade in on the D90...and put it towards a brand new D750.  To save NY taxes, I had the new baby shipped to me in NJ so I won't have it for a few days.  However, I have my D600 which is also a wonderful camera, so no shortage of photo ops.  I also got my hands on Nikon's new 300 f/4 prime lens that is getting such hot press.  It weights only 1 pound 6 ounces so half the weight of a normal 300 prime.  It's a sweet bit of glass to be sure and the current back-order on it is about 4 months.  I suspect I'll rent one from lensrentals.com when I am back from OR just to see if I like it.  Too much money for me to spend at the moment, but something to dream about for the future...

After our shopping spree at Mecca, we met up with Kura at a great place called Uncle Jacks for brunch.  They feature locally sourced food and some wonderfully creative menu items - very yummy.  And, of course, always such fun to spend some time with Kura!

Back home to discover that we'd locked ourselves out of the house.  Fortunately our neighbors (who have a key) were just on their way home so they were able to let us in.  Oops. 

Cedar planked salmon for dinner tonight - easy and always delicious.  Tomorrow is supposed to be rainy and yucky - if that holds, I'll spend the day sorting through several thousand photos ... sigh.  I'm only 2 months behind right now - and at least I finally sorted through the last of my FL photos this last week.  Why, or why, do I let weeks go by without cataloging everything???  

Another weekend draws to a close ... hoping it was a good one for everyone out there.  

Be well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.