Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Sharp...teeth!

I thought I'd try an entry in the Mono Monday challenge today (thanks JDO for hosting and for an interesting theme!)  This may be a bit of a stretch for the "sharp" theme but their little teeth are quite sharp, allowing them to easily shell nuts of all kinds.  My favorite garden chipmunk, Lemmy, agreed to pose for several shots, taken with my 105 macro lens (showing you how close she was).  And to give you a funny visual - I took this while lying on my stomach on our deck, about 2 feet from the nuts.

I'm posting an alternative MM-Sharp shot in Extras - Charlie was my model in that one...

It is a gloomy, raining, chilly day which is probably all for the best since I needed to get some cleaning done in the house and also need to get the rest of my photos sorted and filed.   Well, I've managed to vacuum the house but I haven't gotten much done yet with the photos - too many trips in and out snapping shots between rain showers.  I apparently lack discipline in a big way!  

Discovered several days ago that the catbirds are nesting in the big shrub by our garage - Hubs is under strict orders not to go anywhere near it with the trimmers!!  And I am not certain, but it look like there may be a nest in the shrub outside my office window, too - another trimmers-off area for Hubs.  This sort of makes up for the lack of activity in my nest boxes this summer.  My poor little house wren is still singing for a mate with no luck thus far.  He's got at least 3 of the nest boxes all set up in anticipation of attracting a lady wren - let's hope his songs and hard work pay off.  Between the singing and his nest-construction prowess, he's really a bit of a Renaissance Wren!

Got shipping confirmation from B&H that my camera will be delivered tomorrow - yay!!

Happy Monday folks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.