But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Mutant Dandelion.

Many years ago, the rather snooty camera club to which I belonged held an annual “Photographers v. Artists” event; I don’t remember if it was actually a competition or just the two clubs taking turns to present an item for critique. The main thing was that I found the basic concept offensive; we were all artists, some more competent than others, but we all  had aspirations of producing something beautiful; some worked with paints, others with cameras but, all were artists.
 
Today’s MonoMonday challenge has the theme, “Art,” and I give you one of my photographs as a piece of art. I’m not so pretentious as to ask that you accept it as good art, only that it is the best attempt at art that I managed today. It was, actually, quite a challenge; I think, rightly or wrongly, that I am probably better at macro pictures of flowers  than any other genre, a belief borne out by my competition scores. Although I think I am able to produce a competent image, there is rarely any compositional merit or great imagination evident in the result; so my aim today was to try and remedy that somewhat.
 
This dandelion clock, like several others along this path, appears to have a top-knot. I wasn’t able to decide exactly what it was, even after dis-assembling it. I selected the subject as I am in awe of the many excellent Blips of clocks that I come across on an almost daily basis; while I have not tried to copy any particular style, I have tried to climb out of my comfortable rut. There was a price to pay, there was a constant stream of passing dog walkers, many of whom I know, while I was grovelling on the ground with a tripod, wondering what the Hell I was doing.

My thanks to Nickimags888 for setting this challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.