Making New Friends

Narrowboat Trip - Day 2

Hello Blipfriends!
Dolly reporting today!  

We are having fun on our trip!  BUT - Mum says it is HARD work with only 2 humans as the crew. I get left on board an awful lot - tied up but curled up in my bed, but I still don't like that part. At least most of the time I can look out the door and see a bit of what's going on. A couple of times Mum secured me outside while she was working the lock and I could watch everything. But it was too busy for her to do that every time.

We met new friends today!  We moored up for a long lunch break and we also went for a little walk and I met this nice spotty dog. I love meeting other dogs and I like BIG dogs the best!  Sometimes their Mums or Dads think I'll be frightened of their big dog but I almost never am!

Mum and Rhod also made new friends. The green boat in the lock with ours belongs to John and Julie and they are going in the same direction as us. We met them after lunch. The humans all agree that it's easier to do this as a team!  At the end of the day we even all went to the pub together for a meal. I got some sausages and chips so I was happy!  

We've ended up in a small town called Droitwich, north of Worcester. The canal here, the Droitwich canal, was closed down in the 1930s but was reopened 5 years ago after many volunteers did lots of hard work over many years. This means we can do the Droitwich 'ring', which includes the Birmingham & Worcester canal and the River Severn.

We moored up right in the middle of town, along a pretty park and next door to a Waitrose!  A bit urban for us, but not very noisy and getting a few last minutes supplies at Waitrose was very helpful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.