Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Back in the day..

Today I bought my new camera.  I feel like a child in a toy shop.  Not a DLSR (too heavy and budget-busting) but a mirrorless Fujifilm with an APS-C sensor so much better quality than before.  Pretty exciting, huh?
 
Back in the day, when I lived in London and didn’t have kids I worked as assistant/second string for a fashion photographer.  We did all the fashion shows.  I had absolutely no formal training, just a very generous boss who taught me how to set the focus on a particular part of the runway then wait for the models to walk into shot.  Like shooting pheasants. 
 
In the rear of this shot you can see my portfolio and the equipment I used: my much loved Pentax (he of course had 2 Nikons) and a Metz flashgun (he had Mecablitzes).  During London Fashion Weeks you had to negotiate Champagne breakfasts (disgusting at 8am) in the smartest venues in London, force your way into the shows (even with a ticket they sometimes tried to punch you to keep you out – no, I never understood either) and work incredibly fast, rewinding exposed film and slamming in new pre-peeled film cassettes before the next model came down the runway.  My boss did the colour shots.  I did the BW.  We worked freelance for most of the nationals, magazines and important trade press on both sides of the Atlantic.  I did it for 10 years and never thought I should really have been there.  It was heaven.  But in the end I wanted babies.
 
And at the front of this blip you can see the new Fujifilm X-T10.  Two lenses go with it.  The extension rings are on order.  So, sadly, is the USB cord.  I don’t have a card reader as my previous camera supplied its own cord.  Rather mean of the manufacturers not to put one in the box, I thought, but guess it gives me some learning time.
 
Hope Tuesday’s treated you kindly today.  And tomorrow’s already mid week.  Talk to you later  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.