Davaar Island from the Beacon on the Doirlinn

15.0C sunny and bright. Light to moderate Westerly or WSW breeze.

After lunch I took Maeve the Deerhound for a short walk. She really isn't enjoying walking during these warm days, so I decided she could have a short walk and then stay home. I had windows open and a cool breeze coming through the house for her. In the end it turned out not to be so warm today and there was a good breeze.

I went for a walk. Enya on the iPod Mini (The Celts, then Shepherd Moons, then Dark Sky Island). I went round past the harbour and set off round the South side of Campbeltown loch. I went out past Glenramskill, and the NATO jetty, and carried on out to the Kintyre Way marker past Davaar island where I turned round to come back.

The tide was well out (low tide was just after 2pm today), so on a whim I set off across the Doirlinn to the beacon which marks one side of the channel the boats use to enter and leave Campbeltown loch. From the shore the walk to Davaar island is across stones and shells and shingle and is more or less straight out to the beacon then turns 90 degrees right and makes for the island. I'm not sure how difficult it might be for Maeve if I decided to take her one day. She prefers firmer surfaces. I went as far as the beacon and had a look back straight across the loch to Campbeltown, and took some pictures of the beacon and Davaar island before starting back. There were a few groups of people making their way back across the Doirlinn from the island.

I came back along the road then along the street side of the park and came home by the harbour. Maeve was fine. Quite happy lying in the living room in the cool. I'll take her out for another short wander before dinner.

E-PL5 f/10 1/640 sec. ISO-200 14mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.