Bench

I was devastated when I opened the curtains this morning to a bright blue sky and sunshine.  Why could it not have been like that yesterday, when I had a bank holiday?  Typical. 

It was a brave new world today.  New desk in a new location, with our new team.  The move seems to have gone fine – just the usual IT teething troubles.  Although we have lost an amazing view, the new view isn’t too bad -  I look straight over a few desks and out of a window – so I could see the blue sky every time I looked up.  I popped out for a wander at lunchtime and was very envious of everyone sitting out enjoying the sunshine.

My train home tonight was late, which meant I picked BB up late, and got him to football training late.  This is normally TT’s job, but he is away with work for a few days.  I went for a walk through the woods and along the River Tyne at Pencaitland - a walk I have never done before, though I had an idea of where I was going.  I ended up further away than I had planned, and had to scramble up to a fence, get over the fence, through a field and over a rickety gate to get to the road and back to the football pitch – just in time.   En route (walking along a country road with very fast traffic), I passed the place I should have exited the woods.  Next time I will start there and see where I end up.  I think my mistake was to follow so close to the river, I should have veered away from it at some point.

BB wasn’t very happy when we got home.  He was pushed over at school today and has the grazes (and probably bruises tomorrow) to show for it.  The other child is apparently now on a final warning about this playground behaviour.  On top of that he was complaining of a headache, so has gone to bed in a sorry state.

On my walk, I spotted this bench being reclaimed by nature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.