a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Shunting Yard

"I had a job, I had a girl
I had something going, mister, in this world
I got laid off down at the lumber yard
Our love went bad, times got hard
Now I work down at the car wash
Where all it ever does is rain
Don't you feel like you're a rider on a down bound train"

Bruce Springsteen - Downbound Train

A fair part of my commute into Bristol takes me along the Bath to Bristol cycle path, which is a former railway line.  At Bitton, part of the way along my route, a short section of railway remains open and operates as a tourist attraction - the Avon Valley Railway.  Most of the rolling stock is long past its better days, but this diesel electric shunter looks to be a relatively new addition, its certainly looking pretty smart.  

The Avon Valley Railway wanted to extend their line not so long ago, but to do so it meant encroaching on one of the most attractive and least spoiled parts of the cycle path, which gave rise to vociferous objections from the other users of the pathway.  

When I came to think of a train related song for this one, there were an enormous number that I could have chosen, some probably more appropriate to the picture and an engine yard.  But Bruce is in the UK at the moment, touring once more, and its hard not to celebrate the man's longevity and his music.  

Many thanks for your kind reception to yesterday's blip, it took longer to get that wretched flag done than any other part of the blip - considerably longer! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.