a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Staircased

Abstract Thursday: Staircased

I had a meeting in Devizes this afternoon.  I'd heard of the Caen Hill Lock system, but had never actually seen them, so on the way home this evening I stopped to do just that.  They really are very impressive.  

The system of 29 locks range over a 2 mile length of canal. I understand that if you are in a narrow boat, and know what you are doing, the locks take around 5 hours to get through.

This shot features the group of sixteen locks forming a steep staircase up the hillside in the middle of the system.  Designed by John Rennie this elegant solution to a steep hill, was the last part of the 87-mile Avon and Kennet canal to be completed.  It enabled cargo to be taken by water all the way from Avonmouth on the severn estuary to Newbury.

I love the thought that back in that back in the 1830s this flight of locks were lit by gas lights - that must have been quite a sight.  I've added a shot of the flight as an extra.

Many thanks for your thoughts on yesterday's shot - it was now that I look at it with fresher eyes,  ridiculously over saturated now , less is definitely more!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.