a lifetime burning

By Sheol

A boat lies waiting

Abstract Thursday: A boat lies waiting

"Something I never knew
In silence I'd hear you
And a boat lies waiting
Still your clouds all flaming
That old time easy feeling


What I lost was an ocean
Now I'm drifting through without you
In this sad barcarolle


What I lost was an ocean
And I'm rolling right behind you
In this sad barcarolle


It rocks you like a cradle
It rocks you to the core
You'll sleep like a baby
As it knocks at Death's door"

David Gilmour - A boat lies waiting (lyric by Polly Samson)

David Gilmour's elegy for his lost bandmate Richard Wright still moves me with the inevitable sadness inherent in friendships brought to an untimely end. It makes an appropriate sonic backcloth for this abstract, with its musing on the inevitability of one's mortality,  although, in this particular case Charon's ferry would appear to be of the Uber variety, or at the very least, to require calling by mobile...

I hope that this is not too depressing or sad, I don't see it in that way, it is perhaps a reminder instead of the need to embrace what we have, while we still have it!

In response to youoregon1's request for more abstraction, this is I hope, much more abstract, than my last few efforts at this challenge. (I am afraid that I have  discovered that I really rather enjoy playing at surrealism).  If you can the bothered to look in large (!) this is one of those images that looks better bigger - tiresome to mention it I know, but its true in this case :-)

As always, many thanks to our host youoregon1 for the Abstract Thursday concept :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.