Gitama's World

By Gitama

Orkney.....Another Amazing Day

I was too tired to post last night...it might of been the Orkney Fudge Cheesecake after I had after a slap up meal or it could of been the most fabulous day exploring Orkney....which I have to say I am falling more and more in love with every day.

After booking our ferry trip to Westray (which we will be embarking on in a couple of hours) to visit the Puffin Castle o'Burrian ( I really have such a desire to check out these little guys close up and personal so fingers crossed) I managed to do a little shop for some gifts which was rather successful as Sleepyhead wasn't breathing down my neck and I could concentrate.

It was then time to meet up with Freespiral and Himself for a bite to eat at the Birsay cafe...good food...great company.......'there is a bit of getting to know' but mostly its like old friends meeting for a cuppa.

The Broch of Gurness (extra x2) was amazing......the grey skies started to clear and I wandered around happy as a clam in amongst it all...it really is something standing in the middle of so much history. I spoke to some bloke who reminded me of the average age for the people who built and lived here was about 30.........for some reason I thought about the women giving birth in these rock rooms with the wind howling outside. Brock Gurness is not as old as Scara Brae...both elegant in their building techniques though......actually come to think of it ...it is.... mindblowingly gobsmacking. 
There is much to read about this place...I am sure if you pop over to Sleepyheads journal it will be a lot more informative (when he gets around to posting).

After extracting ourselves from those gorgeous stones and rocks ( I love em) we headed to Kirbuster Museum.........to be honest I wasn't that interested......although Porridge had mentioned that inside was great with the peat smoke in the sunlight (extra)..........however when we got there .....wow what a delight the house itself was gorgeous....I especially loved the views from the windows (extra)........however it was the grounds busting full of bluebells that got my heart thumping (extra) and the little horses (one of whom was trying to eat my jacket.......I wish I had had an apple for them).....a very protective goose (glad there was a fence between us....he was serious) and some special sheep that eat seaweed.
Peter Sleepyhead had disappeared ...I found him down in the stables......very very excited.....he told me very loudly that it was a photographers dream in there....it was nice but I preferred the bluebells..hahahahahahaha. Again we dragged ourselves away.

We were going to hunt down some food (in a restaurant) but the sky was so lovely with the sun peeping through here and there...with lovely clouds...tummies forgotten we headed straight for the Ring of Brodgar (more extras)...I know I have posted and featured the Ring of Brodgar before..........but what to say.........I just absolutely love it.....and I reckon that you could go everyday and find something different...be it just the light or the clouds in the sky....a different angle.......whatever ...I am smitten.

Starving by this point we drove to one place near home 'CLOSED' we then drove to another place 'FULL' jeez! it seems that one has to book to get some grub around here.....I also think that we did look kind of feral by the time we got there after our big day out. I did mention that we were starving and 'PLEASE FEED US'........the very nice lady did accommodate us finally and I have to say it was the best dinner ever...in fact as I mentioned I even had a huge slice of Orkney Fudge cheesecake...Im still full.

As I have been writing this the weather has come over very cloudy...it might rain......I hope not...but we are still going to see those puffins if that ferry is still going.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.