No ND filters…

…were harmed in the making of this photo. But that’s because I’d forgotten them and left them behind at the hotel.

Still, I mostly achieved the effect I was after which was to emphasise the structure of the pier, leaving the sea and sky as a mysterious white ether.

I like photos like these. My male colleagues, on the whole do not. I’ve had one high key photo thrown out of competition because it was ‘vastly overexposed.’ My intent was not obvious to the viewer.

Having seen my first attempt at a black and white conversion, a camera club associate said he wanted to see more black and more structure by far. We’ve been brought up on Ansel Adams’ zone system. I would really be interested to hear your reactions to this black and white conversion. See the colour version, in which I have increased contrast and desaturated the green somewhat. And this is the pier at low tide at midday.

Bank Holiday Monday was as splendid as Sunday. But we were all rather tired after our exertions of the previous day. I’d heard that there were seals in a bay close to the Little Orme so we went searching for the nature reserve, but couldn’t find vehicular access. Instead, we headed to Rhos on Sea and parked by the beach. We walked as far as the breakwater, but at that point, the beach became cobbles and boulders on which it was almost impossible to walk.

So we basked in the sun. The light was bright and white. The tide was far out. Basil and I ambled by the water’s edge. Heading back towards the sea wall, I suddenly found myself beginning to sink in squelchy silt, so had to back off and find another route in.

We had a cup of tea. Len chose Welsh Rarebit too. It took them that long to bring it, we thought the cheese must be rare. At least it was possible to sit outside with the dog.

Failing fast, we headed back to the hotel where I spent two hours of a gorgeous afternoon asleep in bed.

Just before seven, we sallied forth once more, which is when I took this photo of the pier at high tide. Then we drove east along the front and walked on to the beach at Colwyn Bay. The sunset was as splendid as it had been the previous day. You can see the windmills in the wind farm offshore churning away.

Time then for me to go and buy a Chicken Tikka Madras at Rozi’s along the road. And time for bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.