Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Ladybird, Ladybird

It was one of those days when I just couldn't seem to get going.  The grey day didn't help, but eventually I dragged myself out to the car and headed ... umm ...

A few more indicisive miles later I ended up at Heather Farm Wetlands on the edge of Horsell Common near Chobham.   I last visited in Febuary when it had just opened to the public. At that time it was rather bleak and muddy with not a bird in sight.  Today, after five months of growing time, Mother Nature had worked her magic, and life was clearly returning.

After a coffee and shortbread at the popular cafe, i took a wander round the wetlands, enjoying the birdsong, and had a spendid time with the macro lens spotting the numerous different insects in the long grasses. 

I was thrilled to find a dragonfly which posed nicely for me (and demonstrated the increased resolution of my new camera at higher ISO) - see the extra.   But my Blip of the day had to be these amorous ladybirds spotted on the way back to the car.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.