Skip's Blips

By Skip

NOT a monarch, but a viceroy butterfly

The sky was beginning to spit rain by the time I started my trail walk in Chagrin River Park. No sooner had I parked my car and started down the trail than one huge limousine and one smaller one unloaded separate wedding parties and all of them headed for the pedestrian bridge to take some pictures for their wedding albums. That was exactly where I was planning to start my walk, So I put plan B into action and walked past the bridge, past the fire circle, and down the trail to the river where I chanced upon this beautiful butterfly. Blip found and rain falling harder, I headed for home.

Correction: According to a naturalist friend, this butterfly is a viceroy, which looks very much like the more widely known monarch, so I changed my original title and have given him the correct name. Information about how to tell them apart can be found here.

The extra picture is a wild flower (iris?) that I spotted right after I blipped the butterfly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.