Sunday Flight

Flying the Grob over the Kent countryside was my hangover cure this afternoon. Soaring at 2,000 feet over the coastline - and with my hands at the controls of the motor glider for the best part of 40 minutes - it was the perfect way to end a lovely weekend with friends.

The Grob was a pleasure to fly. So responsive, agile and comfortable. We came across a temperature inversion which puzzled us as we gained and lost height over the sea. The inversion at first glance appeared to be the French coast but we then realised what it was! Reassuring to me that I was able to keep my height, heading and trim without any issue.

The engine stopping inflight was rather unnerving but impressive as the flight characteristics suddenly changed.

Here's a video of my friend bringing the aircraft into land in glide mode.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.