Just as We Feared: Bats in the Belfry!

And so my husband owns some pretty strange things, including this model of a human brain. It used to be relevant to his work in neuropsychology. Now it's just a curio; a paperweight.

My eye fell upon it on this day. You know how you look at something a million times and never really SEE it? And then one day the light goes on: bingo!

"I have to use this in a photo shoot!" I shouted, grabbing the head and the brain (warning: the brain falls out quite easily) and heading up the stairs. "It needs Dancing Girls." (And shortly thereafter, it had them.)

"Brain Salad Surgery!" my husband exclaimed.
"What?" I replied.
He: "BRAIN SALAD SURGERY; it's an album by ELP!" 
Me: "No, you're making it up!"

But of course . . . he was right. There IS such a song, and the album it came from, Rolling Stone has placed at #12 on the list of the 50 greatest progressive rock albums of all time. And so I MUST use it for this Blip!

The soundtrack: Emerson, Lake, and Palmer, with Brain Salad Surgery. Here is the single; here is a recording of jam sessions; and here is the entire album.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.