Gone Fishin'

My husband and I have visited Bald Eagle State Park twice this week. Both times, we went swimming. The water is still clean this early in the season, and it was temperate and comfortable; actually, quite a bit warmer than I expected it to be. On this morning, the water was like silk against my skin, and I swam happily, like an otter.

I brought my camera along, and before and after the swim, I took a few pictures: the park's green trees and benches, the wide sweep of sand along the water, mist rising from the bluegreen hills, people on boats, children playing on the playground equipment, families having picnics.

One of the things that struck me was the diversity of people who visit this park. It's not far from a major university, and the population is more diverse than the surrounding area, comparatively speaking. There were children of all sizes and colors and ethnicities playing happily together, making things in the sand at the edge of the water, as children do.

And then I spotted another group: several Amish individuals arrived, carrying buckets and fishing poles. There were two pairs of people: an old man with a beard and a young man, and this pair, a man and a woman. Clearly they were going fishing, and a fine morning they had for it indeed.

The song: Trace Adkins, Just Fishin'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.