Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Millstone

'Public Footpath,' was what it said on the little brown sign and I knew the remains of an old mill were near here - I'd been told so! However it seemed after 20 yards that I was in someone else's garden - again I'd been told so but it seemed a bit dodgy to me.
The village of Kemerton (3 entries in the Domesday Book with 80 villagers and 38 slaves no less), lies at the bottom of Bredon Hill in a very 'Cotswold' setting. Pressing on hoping they weren't looking out of their windows I followed a tiny swathe of newly mown grass passing the roughly boarded up remains of an old watermill..I could hear the sound of running water and went round to sneak a few shots.

This millstone was still on it's original bed surrounded by wildflowers planted after the rubble had been cleared away - it was stacked against the wall. The backdrop being the most glorious lake with 2 tiny islands, swans, ducks, heron, geese, baby coots and moorhens. Mother duck marched passed ushering 3 tiny ducklings out of my way and into the water with a plop- very Professor McGonagall at Hogwarts - and I set up the camera.
"I'm glad you like that enough to photograph it," came from over the rim of my glasses and we got chatting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.