Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Woodwork - a new collaboration

It was the Walking Festival committee this morning, with 2 members away. It was all very straightforward, which makes me a bit uneasy (!), but the autumn festival is already well organised.

We laid out the timetable for walks' write-ups and for when we need to hear from volunteers.

After the meeting, I drove to Brampton to meet Tim. He is a wood worker who will have an exhibition in the lovely Allendale Forge Studios next year. I've offered to do some photography for him, both for his publicity and to produce a few large images to go on the walls at the time of the exhibition.

We met at the Community Centre in Brampton where there is a large workshop. Now I imagined that people would be sitting there whittling and carving. Not at all! There were lathes and circular saws and vices and so on. I was given ear defenders for while I worked.

I wanted to assess the light - very good as it turned out - and to think about the sort of images that Tim wants. We had a long chat and I did some test shots. It's a very dusty place. Suddenly the room was filled with very fine dust from the circular saw and I had to beat a retreat. I don't think my camera of lenses will survive being there for long.

Next time I'll go when they are not working or perhaps arrange for some "calmer" activities to photograph.

It's going to be an interesting project.

Already hooked on Words with Friends. Just need to persuade Mum she will like it, because I'm sure she will.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.