A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

View from Earl Crag

I've wanted to do this walk for some time as it takes me back to some of my childhood haunts. Not because I lived here but it was where my father grew up and he brought us here quite often.

We set out from the church at Ickornshaw - see Corinthian Column - and climbed up to walk along the ridge to Wainman's Pinnacle, always known to me as Cowling Pinnacle, and then along to Lund's tower which 3 of us climbed.

We had these great views all the way. I chose this one as it shows most extensively the mowing that was going on over in the Lothersdale area, the noise of which accompanied us all the way.

We returned on the valley bottom and then met up with partners who hadn't walked at the Dog and Gun in Glusburn. It was a pretty hot walk and the refreshments were much appreciated.

A lovely day shared with good company. Thank you J for the lift.

Extra - Couldn't resist these ducklings (I think) that crossed our path in Ickornshaw at the beginning of the walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.