angellightphoto

By angellightphoto

nearly but not quite

...it was another hot and sunny day, but the wind has started to pick up again and it looks as though the forecast of a return to cooler, cloudier weather is probably correct.

This afternoon, we went for one of our regular walks from Worth Matravers to Seacombe and back via Winspit. As we walked along the Coast Path, we came across lots of Lulworth Skippers Thymelicus acteon among the Tor Grass but they were being far too flighty to photograph. One of the males eventually settled, first on some grass, and then to feed on some clover. I managed to get several really good shots but, the trouble with Lulworth Skipper males is that they can be very tricky to identify as they are similar to Small Skippers. This one's upper wings were sufficiently dull and olive that, together with its habit of resting and feeding with closed wings, proximity to females and its choice of habitat, I am confident enough to file it as such.

The real excitement of the afternoon came when I spotted a solitary Small Blue on its favourite nectar plant of Kidney Vetch. I got two rubbish images before she flew off and, by the time I had moved my eye from the viewfinder, I had lost her. This species is our smallest butterfly and has become increasingly rare. I would like to have spent much longer searching for more but L was thirsty and already half a mile ahead down the path! I will return tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.