Tiny Tuesday

Nothing says warm weather like a dragonfly basking in the sun.  This is a Common Whitetail perched on a tree branch near a pond at the Meadowside Nature Center and seems like a good candidate for the Tiny Tuesday weather-themed challenge. 

Many thanks for all the lovely comments about my unexpected success at the camera club awards banquet.  I am still feeling quite chuffed.  When I posted those results with my blip last evening, I was unaware of another honor I had received.  As I was leaving the banquet, one the club officers came over to me and told me that one of my images had been acknowledged at “Glennie” and he didn’t think I was aware of it, which I wasn’t.  “Glennie” had been mentioned during the banquet by the President.  It is an International Camera Club Nature competition.  Apparently I was oblivious to this competition because submissions were made while I was away in Europe in February and then I was a bit tuned out of camera club business for the next couple of months, neglecting to read the monthly newsletter.  Apparently Camera Clubs from all over the world participate in the Merrimack Valley Camera Club, George W. Glennie Nature Salon.  Each club can enter 10 photographs and each photograph is graded.  There were 798 images from 80 clubs from around the world and from 596 different photographers.  Submissions were received from seven countries and seventeen US states.   Our camera club came in 7th in the competition but was first of all the US camera clubs. I did not know one of my photos had been entered. It didn’t win but it was admitted to the Salon exhibition so I feel quite honored. This is the image.  Who knew??? 

Also, as promised and with TreeHugger’s blessing, here is one of my winning photos in extras.  It is my great nephew running towards his Gran (Treehugger) along South Bank in Melbourne last year.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.