Grasshopper Love

The humidity is gone, the temperatures have dropped and the sky today is a beautiful clear blue.  My former office-mate, W., and I went to the Mckee-Bashers Wildlife Management Area  where we spent a delightful morning with our cameras and the wildflowers, hummingbirds, dragonflies and grasshoppers.    W. had her new Sony ILCE 6000 with her and after a brief camera intro at Starbucks, we headed out.  Up until now, my photography has been a very solitary activity, so having someone to share this with was such a treat.  We have set a date to do it again.  

I retired exactly one year ago today, and W retired exactly one week after me.  We had shared an office in the hospital for many years and were used to having daily communication.  As office mates, we had a lot of fun and laughs over the years and since retiring we have met for lunch at least once a month. We are fortunate that we only live a couple of miles from each other.  Needless to say, I am delighted that she has become so interested in photography.  You may see her on Blipfoto in the near future. 

I know that it is FlowerFriday and thankfully these grasshoppers are enjoying each other's company on some budding flowers.  This counts, right, Anni?  I have included a Cicada in the extras. 

Reminder: 
Next week will be my last week as host for TinyTuesday.  We are still looking for a host for September, either the whole month or part of it.   Please let me know by email or in a comment  if you would be interested in doing this.  It really is quite fun and it would be a shame to see the challenge fade away because there is no host.  Wouldn’t it be great if we could line up hosts for the next couple of months to assure continuation?

Since it is hard to get the word out about challenges, I thought I would mention this one to some of you who might be interested.  KangaZu is hosting “Throwback Thursday” for the month of August.  There is still one Thursday left in August, so some of you might still want to join in.  More info can be found HERE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.