All Creatures Great And Small

I am very behind on posting my blips!! Trying to catch up!

This morning there was much activity going on in my garden! I've never been much of a birdwatcher but this spring I put out a feeding station and a bird house. Not a very good birdhouse, but it soon contained a nest of blue tits. A couple of weeks ago there was great drama when the birdhouse fell down from its 'secure' bracket. There were chicks inside, still alive and I was gutted - fearing they would either die or be abandoned by their mum.

After some advice from a fellow blipper, the house was secured again and soon mum was flying black and forth to feed them. I was thrilled!

Yesterday I could tell that they were about to fledge the nest and this morning when I stepped out in the garden there was already one out! It was a chilly morning but safely wrapped in my fluffy dressing gown, I pulled up a chair, a safe distance away, and spent the next couple of hours watching 3 more finally get the courage to spread their wings and fly! It must require a great deal of courage! One of them flew straight to me and next to the leg of my chair and I was able to get a couple of sweet videos. After finally getting properly dressed I came back out to find this one hopping around the grass. Oh, I do hope it hides before the neighbourhood cats find it!

This afternoon I stopped at the local egg farm and, as you would expect, enjoyed watching the many chickens and....reindeer?? Yes, the farmer has a herd of reindeer and he's added a few new ones recently. He also has ducks, geese and 2 rare breed pigs. It's always fun to visit and see them all and they've been featured in several of my blips.

But the best creature of all of course is my adventure-buddy, Dolly! After a warm day we took an evening stroll through some fields we've not been to for a very long time. This one is always full of buttercups this time of year, and, of course, whatever the flower, I always want a picture of her in the middle. She's not always so eager, but I can usually get a picture or two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.