Gable Erratic

By MsGable

WHAT A WONDERFUL DAY

This is Willie Fulton. I tried to visit his studio in 2009 but it was closed on the one time we drove along The Golden Road. Today the gallery was closed again, but we stopped in a pull off above the bay for our coffee, and that was when I saw Mr Fulton set off in his car. Blast, I thought, he's going off out for the day painting somewhere. But no, it was just a long way to put the "open" sign up and then drive to his studio.

So, coffee finished off we went. And it was no surprise he took his car to his studio. It was down his driveway, turn left, then engage first gear and up, up. I want to live there! We had a great time, Willie showed us his working studio, oh wow, oh wow, full of his in progress paintings, and explained how he worked. It was amazing. (Even G seemed interested, philistine). Then his wife Moira drove up so we had a good chat with her, and then ambled about the gallery. Goodness, if I had it to spare I would have had an original.

As it was I bought a print which I had hankered for since 2009.

And then another one because it seemed a shame to have a lone sheep instead of three. And then the blue seascape which caught my eye as soon as I had entered the gallery; and then a beautiful flower and seascape picture of Moira's

I'm done spending now. 

We (unbelievably) visited two other artist workshops along the Golden Road. I was spent out now but it was great to see the others. I fear this was my one and only non-birding day, but well spent. And spent well!

The holiday cottage is now decorated with my four Fulton pictures for us to enjoy until we return home to hang them. They were definitely not staying in the paper wrappings! 

Extras are a view, how could I get bored with this?, and "everything including the kitchen sink".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.