Well I never!!

It's clear, but cold.  And did I feel like going into the Park?  As Mish would say, no I did not.

I spent the morning on a fruitless visit to a book sale (didn't buy anything) and the rest of the time repackaging and labelling my spice collection.  Out of plastic and into glass.  Most likely a future blip.

Did the washing.

Made up a new recipe of broccoli fritters for lunch to be had with carrot soup.  Oooh, but they were good.  The Rower's going to love them when he gets home.

The light was starting to fail just a little - it is mid-winter after all, so I thought I'd see what I could see from the family room window.  Nothing but a pair of crested pigeons.  I pray for the day we see a new species at the feeder, but I won't hold my breath.

So... ventured out into the cold and onto the deck - and what should I spy but this little white plumed honey eater.  They are common enough, and we see them all the time at Laratinga and such places, but this is the first, the very first time, I have seen one in our own backyard.  I only got three shots off before it flew away, but I reckoned this one was good enough to blip.

That makes 24 backyard species now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.