Mosquito orchid

I started out on an expedition to Laratinga - such a glorious day, but I got seduced into going to the Belair National Park instead, on an orchid hunt.

I was looking for Helmet orchids but I think it's a bit early for them - but there were plenty of the tiny mosquito orchid (Acianthus pusillus), which is one of the most common orchids in the Park.  However if you  haven't got your orchid eyes on, they are easily missed because they are minute.  There's another view in extras.

There were plenty of birds around too - and here is a general warning. I was just lining up for a shot of a thorn-bill, and the battery went flat on me.   I put a fully charged battery into the camera yesterday, and it only lasted about 50 or so shots.

The battery I used was not the original Olympus battery - it's a cheap knock-off.  I'll never make that mistake again.

It's still fairly early, and the sun is shining - so it's a bit of gardening for me - the never ending war I'm waging against soursobs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.