Gitama's World

By Gitama

The Beautiful Isle of Skye

Not having a great deal of time on Skye we decided to make the most of it with a reasonably early start...being at the gates of Dunvegan Castle (extra) as the gates opened. It was rather a delight for me this castle......the large paintings and the little cameos were exquisite...the paintings of one woman stood out over and above the rest...Sarah Stackhouse.....she felt like a woman of substance to me...I think I will have to read up more about her.
The gardens were just glorious in the beautiful morning sun I took so many pics of the beautiful blooms and the little wild flowers and wandered around in a kind of floral heaven...I had to laugh when I entered the hot house and there were a lot of things we get in Australia..geraniums and stuff that I like but not mad about thats for sure....I went back outside and oooooohhhed and aaahhhhhed of the the blood red poppies who had heads the size of dinner plates.
Down the back of the castle was the water and little boat rides to see the seals...my eyes lit up P's rolled in his head and next thing we were off over the water to see these lovely smelly guys...that to be honest reminded me of huge slugs white and speckled basking in the warmth off the sun in the most crazy reclines ...their bodies contouring with the rocks...Adam our boat driver was very helpful in getting us as close as possible so we...the Seal Papparazzi could get our shots.

After that our trip around the Island started....we only had a day and a half in Skye we needed to make the most of it.....in reality it was just enough to get a taste of it...and the desire to return one day.
The landscape is just gorgeous but I guess its not until you get to the  Quiraing that you get to see the majesty of the Mountains /Hills that seem to go on forever (extra) and then there is the view over the water (extra).
We sat up on the hill overlooking the view drinking our tea and munching on shortbreads...it was good just to sit up there for awhile until some noisy folk came up and ruined our peace.......we moved on.
As we drove down the other side we saw the Old Man of Storr....another famous landmark of the Quiraing......and then on to Kilt rock (extra).....the sun was in the wrong place and the only way I could get this image to work was in mono....of course P loves it....the mono King.
There was stops here and there when the view got just so amazing we couldn't help but bring the car to a screeching halt to jump out with the camera.
It wasn't enough time really...there was so much more to explore.....but I feel blessed just to of seen it........Happy Days.

We went over the bridge to the mainland and passed by Eilean Donan Castle....(extra)..which look amazing in the afternoon light.....beautiful big clouds (my favourite) in the background and lo and behold some gorgeous foxgloves growing just where the best spot for taking pics was.

We slid into our hotel at Letterfinlay just in time before the kitchen closed...we were rather hungry by this time..it was already late 8.30......we had a good nosh and headed for our room.

I am only now catching up ...and I have to wake up early so I get time to post and work on pics a little a time....I can't help but be a day behind.....and.......I cannot seem to post just one pic... of course that would make it easy......I have had to take some of my previous extras out so I can post more....Oh well. 

At the moment I am still in bed......in a lovely little room at Peters parents place. It has been so lovely to meet them...again it was like we were already good friends......(I think Blip does that). Peters Mum is a new blipper  (EAGS) although been following blip for quite some time. Peter has just given her one of his old cameras with a lovely wide angle lens....so there is no excuse now Edith.
I spoke to Jaiya last night and she told me that our landlord is selling our house so we have to move.......I have to say it has put a bit of a wet blanket on things a bit...I hate moving house. Oh well I will cross that bridge when I come to it I guess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.