Barnstorming Evening

The sound of an old grammaphone playing, the smell of pipe tobacco and the sight of a WW1 flying officer in his breeches is a familiar assault on my senses as I'm yet again transported back in time to 1914. It can only mean that I'm at the nostalgic and special place that is the Great War Aerodrome of Stow Maries in Essex.

A vintage evening flying event attracted a lovely crowd to watch WW1 replica aircraft - Albatros, Hornet Moth, BE2e, Snipe - and barnstorming fun from the 1950s single seat 'flying motorbikes' that is my Turb Team.

My lovely friend Helen, famous barnstorming wing walker from the 'Utterly Butterly' days, tagged along for some light entertainment after a busy day setting up the charity stand we're running at Biggin Hill tomorrow.

Helen, as ever, added some glamour by insisting we wore our 50s style red frocks. Along with delicious Cotswolds strawberries and chocolate biscuits Helen managed to bring a smile to pilots and crew alike. I even gave her a cameo on the commentary, which gave me respite as I'm rapidly losing my voice!

Wish me luck for keeping my voice or I'll be a husky commentator to several thousand air show goers over the next two days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.