Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Enjoying the buttercups

Luke got in late last night from his trip to Portugal, but as we had already gone to sleep we only saw him this morning. He enjoyed his 'rugby' tour very much, although they seemed to have very little sleep as they were up until the early hours every night morning. I was upset to see that he has a cut across his eyebrow from when he fell onto a broken glass - it could have been very serious and luckily it was not his eye. He said at least he did not wake up with a broken foot like one student did, or....actually, what goes on tour stays on tour as the saying goes and I am just glad he came home in one piece and hopefully this is the first and last time he will go on this annual tour.

Gavin and I had some chores to attend to in the village and on the way home I asked Gavin to drive around in search of more poppies - there were none, they seem to be very scarce this year for some reason. I did see this horse in a field of buttercups and the poor thing was having a problem with the flies, her tail was constantly having to whisk them away but at least her owner had put a fly hood on her.

Yesterday when I was in the garden taking photos of the roses, I came inside again but left Murdoch out there - suddenly he started barking quite frantically, so I went back outside to see what he was barking at and he had found an enormous hedgehog who was wedged up against the wall of the house behind some lavender bushes. Murdoch had ruined the lavender as he tried to paw at the hedgehog, who must have been terrified. The hedgehog was not moving but sitting their very firmly wedged in, but definitely alive. I kept checking on the hedgehog and it did not move at all but this morning when I went to check on it, it was gone, probably pleased to be out of our garden and away from Murdoch.

Thomas is so pleased to have Luke home again - we are having a chicken BBQ tonight and I think it will be an early night for Luke.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.