Becoming...

Dear Diary,

The peonies are bursting forth in all their beauty and wonderful scents.  Watching them transition from tight buds to full blossoming is something I love about June.  In the third photo in this sequence is the ever present small black ant.  He is a partner in the peony's becoming.  Without them the peony would not bloom.

This is a lesson I think.  We all need someone else, often many "someone elses", to become what we eventual become.  "No man (or woman) is an island..." as John Donne once said.  I mentioned the other day that I had four mother-figures in my life and they all contributed to my becoming.  I have been very fortunate indeed.

Today I am taking a brief sabbatical from gardening even though I know there is much left to do.  It will be a quiet day for Emerson and me, at least to start.  There is a strong cold front approaching that will bring high winds in its wake so I will most likely be picking up branches in the morning but for now it is a good book and a comfy chair and maybe some quiet studio time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.