Alice at the Window

I photographed a lovely wedding at Quorn. The couple were incredibly handsome, the bride stunning and the wedding dress to die for.

I sneaked this photo of the flower girl peeking out of the window of the bridal suite. I'd have preferred the view to look out on to a garden rather than a car park, but sometimes you can't have everything.

The rain held off while I took group photos in the garden and then a few spits came just as I was about to photograph all the guests. The bride was worried about her dress, so we all went back inside. The rain held off.

But it hadn't held off over Charnwood Forest as I motored back to the M1. It's amazing how local weather can be.

I was 40 minutes late for the start of Götterdämmerung but arrived at the transition between the departure of the Norns and the entry of Hagen, Gunther and Gutrune. It's a very long opera. Can you really criticise music that's so  marvellous? It strikes me that the flow of the Rhine flows through the whole Ring Cycle.

Warm and very humid, I had to take on board a lot of water, three bottles alone during the performance, plus a large soda and lime at the second interval.

Talking to the lady sat next to me in the foyer, I learned that her granddaughter is also coeliac but wasn't diagnosed until she was 14. She had been very ill when small, and hadn't grown properly, but doctors never thought to test for coeliac disease. This makes me SO angry, especially remembering my own experience.

Now her granddaughter is 18 and receiving psychiatric counselling about coping with the disease. At that age, if you don't eat what your mates eat, you're out of it. I do wish girls and boys would start being more independently minded and not feel that they have to follow the herd.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.