Bhangra Boys

These chaps were terrific at the LOROS Variety Show in Leicester. The Dhol Enforcement Agency  has performed internationally and opened the show at the Musician Pub playing Bhangra, or more properly, Punjabi folk music. A dhol is a double headed drum.

It’s foot-tapping stuff. If you get the chance, you really REALLY must see them.

Yours truly was a supporting act in the middle of the second half. I’ve noticed that I’m not as good at remembering words as I used to be, and sure enough, I dried up in the middle of my Joyce Grenfell monologue, as well as having to start the second verse again in John Betjeman’s How to Get On in Society, and calling for repetitive chords to recall the start of the third verse in Don’t Dilly Dally, immortalised by Marie Lloyd.

But I have the confidence and the audience was supportive, and got a storm of applause, for which I was very pleased. As well as winning first prize in the raffle.

Heavy downpours of rain continued throughout the day. When I left for Leicester, there was a tailback of traffic on the A512 and the M1 was closed at Junction 23, so I headed down the A6 to Leicester.

This morning, I’ve learned that a man in a hoodie climbed a gantry sign just before Junction 23 yesterday afternoon and has refused to come down overnight. The M1 southbound lane is still closed and traffic is very slow moving on other main routes. We’re virtually imprisoned inside Shepshed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.