William Jamie

William Jamie Hutton arrived at 5.30 yesterday morning weighing 6lb 10 oz, (3 kg). 

Since he's quite a small lad, he likes to feed frequently. Poor Kat. When Len and I dropped into the house in Leicester this morning, she was grabbing an  hour's sleep while she could. But there's little respite. He woke for a feed while we were there.

Very impressed with George who handled him beautifully on picking him up.

Neither Len nor I took turns to cuddle him as we're both still afflicted with colds, which I hope are on the mend.

George had phoned just when I was turning into Glenfield Hospital to pick up Len after his procedure. So it was a golden opportunity to meet our new grandson. We stayed no longer than ten minutes as William was getting restive. Basil had a look at him over the edge of the crib and wagged his tail.

They've had to buy baby clothes in the right size, as they hadn't anticipated he would be so small. That should change quickly enough.

We drove home and have spent the rest of the day dossing. Len didn't take anaesthetic for his procedure, so he's somewhat uncomfortable, and I'm hissing and wheezing with hayfever, despite George giving me an antihistamine.

It was wonderful to finally meet William who reminds me so much of his great-grandfather who I never met. Bill was small and stocky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.