Open Farm Sunday

We were lucky. Two farms near us opened their doors for Open Farm Sunday. Charnwood Lodge Farm on the Forest was sponsored by Arla Milk. Oakley Grange at Hathern hosted a craft fair as well as farm walks, tours of the farmyard. The cafe was open as usual.

My hay fever was bad today, probably not helped by going out into the countryside. Basil and I toured Charnwood Lodge Farm first which produces organic milk, and sells it on site. It does taste good too.

The heifer calves were beautiful and scrupulously clean. Here is their sire. He is HUGE. Children had been bringing him cow pellets on which to feed. He was quite happy to poke his head through the railings to lap up what lay on the hay beyond. I could hardly believe just how big he is. A lady asked how many bulls they would have on the farm. I said I thought a maximum of two and probably only this one. He'd be expensive to maintain and they would only need the one bull to service all the cows through AI.

Then we drove to Oakley Grange for tea. Gluten free bread and scones were off. The ovens weren't on. A poor excuse.

Home to collapse with fatigue. And bed is where I'm heading right after I post this. Really fed up with feeling so yeuk.

In other news, we have a grandson who arrived at 5.30 am today. But I'm not allowed to post the news on social media. This is just a headsup.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.