Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tragedy in Florida

Like many people around the world, I was shocked and horrified as the news from Orlando started to trickle in...now we know that at least 50 people were killed and over 50 others seriously injured ... all by a single gunman who pledged allegiance to ISIS.  I wonder if we will ever know what was in his mind?  The fact that he chose to launch his attack on a well known gay nightclub makes this even more horrific - a hate crime in every sense of the word.   I just don't understand how people can have this much hatred in them.

Today's image has nothing to do with anything - I just wanted to post something pretty to offset some of the ugliness in the world.  The insect is a miniscule hoverfly (syrphydae) and the flower...well, I have no idea what it is, other than small, yellow and pretty.  

Hubs and I went out and bought a gun today...well, actually it is just a paintball gun, not an actual gun-gun.  We thought that if we could manage to hit the bear with a few paint pellets, it might deter it from coming around.  Having been hit myself with paint pellets I can confirm that they hurt, although I'm not sure how much good it will do with a big furry bear.  Add to that the fact that neither Hubs or I are ace shots... well, I think it is probable that we'll have a colorful backyard and a paint-free bear. But we'll see.  Naturally, once we got home from the store and "loaded" out gun, there wasn't a single bear to be seen.  

Two other pics on Flickr, starting right HERE

My wish for the world is that people will stop hating.  I know that's not likely to happen in my lifetime but maybe, someday...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.