Robert the Star!

We've had a morning of rain so it was good to get out to Coppice Pond for an hour or so this afternoon to try out my new learned settings from the Bird of Prey Day on the ducks.  On my return home, a lovely surprise, Robert had called by and brought dad's bench back after restoring it for us.

Robert is a legend locally.   Over the years he has fitted our kitchen, decorated several rooms, painted the exterior windows, sorted our upstairs banister.....the list is endless.  The old cliche about 'breaking the mould' would be applied to Robert without a doubt.

When mum passed away, I brought dad's bench over to our house and enjoyed it in the sunshine for several years.  Sadly recently the wood had deteriorated to a point where it was unsafe.  I mentioned it to Robert and he collected it just yesterday.  The extra lovely thing he has done, without my asking, is to re attach one of the the original battens to the back - this is the one on which my dad painstakingly tapped in their house postcode - very typical of the man he was. 

So this bench will always remind me of two very special men, my dad and now Robert.  Thank you Robert, you are indeed a star!

For those of you wondering about Robert's pose, who joined Blip more recently, it was all in aid of life.turns!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.