Brave Butterfly

Another day of intermittent downpours. Jazzy and I were in and out like the characters in those German weather houses.

We encountered this sole, brave, female common blue butterfly on one of our morning forays and saw her again after lunch. I imagine that the male I shot yesterday is her mate. No other butterflies on the wing at all. A few micro moths and a couple of cinnabar moths flew up as we stomped through the wet grass. 

The diamondback moth is in the news. I'd never noticed these until I heard on an early Springwatch programme that they fly here from France. Suddenly they seemed to be everywhere. I thought it was just because I'd been made aware of them. Not so. They are here in 'biblical proportions' and their caterpillars, which are resistant to many insecticides, could decimate brassica crops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.