a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Not Fragile

Abstract Thursday: Keeping it Minimal

"The pebble 
is a perfect creature 


equal to itself 
mindful of its limits 


filled exactly 
with a pebbly meaning 


with a scent that does not remind one of anything 
does not frighten anything away does not arouse desire 


its ardour and coldness 
are just and full of dignity 


I feel a heavy remorse 
when I hold it in my hand 
and its noble body 
is permeated by false warmth 


--Pebbles cannot be tamed 
to the end they will look at us 
with a calm and very clear eye"


Zbigniew Herbert - Pebble

As always Abstract Thursday is brought to us by youoregon1, who is currently seeking suggestions for the anniversary challenge next week, should you feel inspired.  You can check out this week's entries here.

Finally, many thanks for the kind hearts and coronetsstars for yesterday's "Tears in the rain" shot, which are much appreciated.  I'm gradually getting around your journals but I'm only about half way, so if I've not visited yet, I am on my way!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.