Shining from the dark

Today I went to Edinburgh to consult on strategic planning for the Union of International Mountain Leader Associations.
The genesis and evolution of this has been difficult and beset with problems, but slowly, collaboratively, we are moving forward. Over coffee during a break one of my European colleagues thanked me for the work we've done so far and made me pause when he said that so often they look to the British to lead, to do the right thing.
As a nation we have in my lifetime developed a self deprecating manner, we've elevated a press that offer the negative as the norm, that herald our follies and failures, not our endeavour and example. Travelling as I do I'm lucky enough to see a wider interpretation of world events, to spend time talking with people of many nationalities - I'm both proud & sad that we're held in higher regard by others than perhaps we do ourselves. For many in Europe and the wider world we held fast when times were dark, we've gone above & beyond for a greater good, we've built a society and values to be proud of.

Emerging from our council I reconnected with the world and was so saddened to read the appalling news of Jo Cox's murder, a senseless act, a moment of horror that for her family will last forever, something I know only too well. And yet, somehow, from the deepest darkness her husband has spoken with dignity and inspiration, our often fatuous politicians have done the right thing, as a nation we've paused and paid respects.

I'm proud of us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.