alicemorris97

By alicemorris97

Shalom

Over these last couple of days I've really felt God's peace.

Shalom is when everything goes right, when everything just seems to fit together, and it's a type of rest that is unlike anything that this world has to offer. God created the world in perfect shalom, and now that is disrupted and fractured due to us rejecting God, wanting to be our own gods, and bringing sin into the world.

How rubbish would it be if the story ended like this? The good news is, it doesn't.

Jesus says in John 14:27,  "Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid." He promises to give us His peace (or in other words, shalom) when we come to Him.


So even though I've had exams, worries about the future, driving lessons, work, even though I've seen terrible things on the news, and have been surrounded by deep sadness, I can still find shalom in the midst of it all.


That's probably the most amazing part; experiencing shalom is never dependant on the circumstances that we find ourselves in. It's dependant on Jesus, who is the same yesterday, today, and forever.


So I'm thanking Jesus for His faithfulness and His longing to pour out His grace, love, mercy, and shalom on me daily.


Psalm 116:5-9
The Lord is gracious and righteous;
    our God is full of compassion.
The Lord protects the unwary;
    when I was brought low, he saved me.
Return to your rest, my soul,
    for the Lord has been good to you.
For you, Lord, have delivered me from death,
    my eyes from tears,
    my feet from stumbling,
that I may walk before the Lord
    in the land of the living.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.